top of page

Tarot & Astrology

If you would like to explore a bit deeper into the meaning of tarot you can broaden your knowledge by learning the astrological signs that are associated with each tarot card . Whether you are a beginner or already have an understanding of reading tarot, by adding astrology to the mix will add depth to your readings.

The four elements - Fire, Air, Water & Earth, each correspond to signs of the zodiac and to a suit in tarot.

The Elements, Suits & the Corresponding Signs

Wands is the element of Fire ~ Action, ambition, passion, energy and creativity (Aries, Leo, Sagittarius)

Swords is the element of Air ~ Communication, thoughts, ideas and logic (Libra, Gemini, Aquarius)

Cups is the element of Water ~ Relationships, intuition, emotions, dreams (Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces)

Pentacles is the element of Earth ~ Worldly possessions, work, business, money, health (Capricorn, Taurus, Virgo)

In addition the major arcana, the first 22 cards of the deck correspond with astrological signs and planets, see below:- 

Aries ~ The Emperor & Queen of Wands

The Emperor is the master and commander, he is an authority figure and powerful leader and is allocated to the fire sign of Aries. Aries is the first sign of the zodiac and is bold, determined and ambitious. If you look at the Emperor tarot card you will see images of the Aries ram. 

What other cards fall under Aries?  

Queen of Wands (Natural leader, brave & bold), and 2, 3, & 4 of Wands

Taurus ~ The Hierophant & King of Pentacles

The Hierophant is about religious beliefs, conformity, tradition, institutions, structure and responsibility and is allocated to the earth sign of Taurus. Taurus is the sign of stability, security luxury and pleasure.

What other cards fall under Taurus?

King of Pentacles (Steady, reliable, grounded and determined) and 5, 6, & 7  of Pentacles 

Gemini ~ The Lovers & Knight of Swords

The Lovers card relates to love, harmony, relationships, and twin souls, and is allocated to the air sign of Gemini. Gemini is the sign of communication, mind and knowledge and is represented by the twins. 

What other cards fall under Gemini? 

Knight of Swords (enthusiastic, energetic and fearless),  and 8, 9 & 10 of Swords 

Cancer ~ The Chariot and Queen of Cups

The Chariot is a card of willpower, determination, and strength, and can also represent travel by road, or selling your home, and is allocated to the water sign of Cancer. Cancer is very much about the home, family and loved ones.

What other cards fall under Cancer? 

Queen of Cups (homemaker, nurturing, sensitive, caring) and 2, 3, and 4 of Cups

Leo ~ Strength & King of Wands

The Strength card relates to inner strength determination and power. Having power in situations without using force. The Strength card is allocated to the fire sign of Leo. Leo is a sign of creativity, passion, strength and leadership.

What other cards fall under Leo? 

King of Wands (confident and courageous leader), and 5, 6  & 7  of Wands

Virgo ~ The Hermit & Knight of Pentacles 

The Hermit marks a time of soul searching, introspection, and inner guidance. The Hermit is allocated to the earth sign of Virgo, the sign of responsibility and dedicated service to others.

What other cards fall under Virgo? 

Knight of Pentacles (Dependable, responsible, conservative) and 8,9 & 10 of Pentacles

Libra ~ Justice & Queen of Swords

The Justice tarot card is a symbol of truth, fairness, karma, consequence, and law. The Justice card is allocated to Libra, the sign of equality, balance, harmony, the master of compromise, diplomacy and being fair minded.

What other cards fall under Libra? 

Queen of Swords (leader, independent, unbiased judgement)  and 2, 3 and 4 of swords

Scorpio ~ Death & King of Cups

The Death card a symbol of change, transformation, endings, and the ruler of the underworld is allocated to the sign of Scorpio. Scorpio is the sign of sex, death, transformation, rebirth, emotion & mystery. 

What other cards fall under Scorpio? 

King of Cups (Ruler of the underwater world, emotionally balanced )  and 5, 6 & 7 of cups 

Sagittarius ~ Temperance & Knight of Wands

Temperance the card of patience, purpose, peace and calm, encourages you to look at life in a balanced moderated approach, to avoid any extremes, has been allocated to the fire sign of Sagittarius. Sagittarius is the last of the fire signs in the zodiac and is a blend of passion, curiosity, intensity, and adaptability. 

What other cards fall under Sagittarius? 

Knight of Wands (outgoing, inspired, passionate, carefree and flexible) 8, 9 and 10 of Wands

Capricorn ~ The Devil & Queen of Pentacles

The Devil shows you the negative forces that hold you back from being the best version of you, it is the card of physical and material temptation and is allocated to the earth sign of Capricorn. Capricorn is the sign of business, career success and worldly status. 

What other cards fall under Capricorn? 

Queen of Pentacles (leader, business woman, practical)  and 2, 3 & 4 of Pentacles

Aquarius ~ The Star & King of Swords

The Star a glimmering light of hope and inspiration is allocated to the air sign of Aquarius. Aquarius is the sign of the humanitarian, of futuristic thinking, they have a deep sense of justice and are innovative and unique.

What other cards fall under Aquarius? 

King of Swords (forward thinking, determined, intellectual)  and 5, 6 & 7 of Swords.

Pisces ~ The Moon & Knight of Cups

The Moon, the card of Illusion, fear, anxiety, subconscious, and your intuition has been allocated to the water sign of Pisces. Pisces is the sign of the mystical, creativity, dreams and is deeply intuitive.

What other cards fall under Pisces? 

Knight of Cups (Sensitive, a dreamer, intuitive ) and 8, 9 & 10 of cups

The Remaining 10 Major Arcana Cards  

THE FOOL  ~ Uranus, the planet of rebellion and revolution

THE MAGICIAN ~ Mercury, the planet of communication and intellect

THE HIGH PRIESTESS ~ The Moon is emotions, intuition, unconsciousness 

THE EMPRESS ~ Venus, planet of love and beauty

THE WHEEL OF FORTUNE ~ Jupiter, the planet of luck and expansion

THE HANGED MAN ~ Neptune, planet of mysticism and illusion

THE TOWER ~ Mars, planet of war & aggression

THE SUN ~ is the SUN and is energy, radiance, enlightenment

JUDGEMENT ~ Pluto, planet of transformation, rebirth and death

THE WORLD ~ Saturn, planet of limitations and restrictions 

I hope you have found this article helpful. I am available for readings in person, face to face, online or phone. 

with Love & Light...Sue  

bottom of page